GAULT MILLAU 2013                "Sommelier of the Year"

Mainz, 8th November 2012

The probably most illustive award for Sommeliers in Germany and considered the most important and significant is certainly the award for the "Sommelier of the Year" by GAULT MILLAU.

The German subsidiary of the French GALUT MILLAU is rating German restaurants since 1983 and is one of the most influential critics of publications in the country. In 1993 it was joined by the wine guide and with it the awards for the "Sommelier of the Year".

The fact that I got the honor to get awarded this title, makes me a little speechless and very thankful. I would not have dared to dream this, espacially since it was unthinkable for me, to get added to this illustrious circle.

It  is a title, which would be impossible without a great team in servie and cuisine. A title that I understand as recognition for the intensive, high quality and dynamic cooperation with Nils Henkel and his team.  Thanks to its high understanding of the combination of wine and cuisine, exciting and energetic combinations are possible at all. Moreover, I find great support in my sommelier and service team with which I can share new approaches. They all deserve my heartfelt thanks for this unique success!

 

Previous winners:

Paula Bosch (1988)
Joel Payne (1989)
Pedro Sandvoss (1990)
Claudia Schlegel (1991)
Markus del Monego (1992)
Bernd Kreis (1993)
Dirk Cannova (1994)
Susanne Juchems (1995)
Alfred Voigt (1996)
Stéphane Gass (1997)
Marie-Helen Krebs (1998)
Hendrik Thoma (1999)
Jürgen Fendt (2000)
Christina Fischer (2001)
Rakhshan Zhouleh (2002)
Kai Schattner (2003)
Susanne Spies (2004)
Christina Göbel (2005)
Stefan Weise (2006)
Evangelos Pattas (2007)
Stéphane Thuriot (2008)
Hagen Hoppenstedt (2009)
Melanie Wagner (2010)
Gunnar Tietz (2011)
Magdalena Brandstätter (2012)

GAULT MILLAU 2013                        "Sommelier des Jahres" 

Mainz, 8. November 2012

 
Wenn es eine Auszeichnung für Sommeliers in Weindeutschland gibt, welche als die Wichtigste und Bedeutendste gilt, dann sicherlich die zum „Sommelier des Jahres“ vom GAULT MILLAU.

Seit 1983 bewertet der deutsche Ableger des französischen GAULT MILLAU die deutschen Restaurants und ist heute eine der einflussreichsten Kritikerpublikationen im Lande. Im Jahre 1993 gesellte sich der WeinGuide dazu und mit ihm auch die Auszeichnungen zum „Sommelier des Jahres“.

Dass mir in diesem Jahr die Ehre zuteil wurde, diesen Titel verliehen zu bekommen, macht mich ein wenig sprachlos und freut mich riesig. Ich hätte dies nicht zu träumen gewagt, zumal es für mich bislang völlig unvorstellbar war, je in diesem erlauchten Kreise aufgenommen zu werden. 
Es ist ein Titel, welcher ohne ein großartiges Team in Service und Küche undenkbar wäre. Ein Titel, welcher Bestätigung ist für eine intensive, hochqualitative und dynamische Zusammenarbeit mit Nils Henkel und seinem Team. Dank seines hohen Verständnisses für die Verbindung von Wein und Küche, sind spannende und energiegeladene Kombinationen überhaupt möglich.  Zudem erfahre ich großartige Unterstützung in meinem Sommelier- und Serviceteam, mit welchem ich gemeinsam neue Wege beschreiten darf. 
Ihnen allen gebührt mein herzlichster Dank für diesen einzigartigen Erfolg!

 

Bisherige Preisträger:

Paula Bosch (1988)
Joel Payne (1989)
Pedro Sandvoss (1990)
Claudia Schlegel (1991)
Markus del Monego (1992)
Bernd Kreis (1993)
Dirk Cannova (1994)
Susanne Juchems (1995)
Alfred Voigt (1996)
Stéphane Gass (1997)
Marie-Helen Krebs (1998)
Hendrik Thoma (1999)
Jürgen Fendt (2000)
Christina Fischer (2001)
Rakhshan Zhouleh (2002)
Kai Schattner (2003)
Susanne Spies (2004)
Christina Göbel (2005)
Stefan Weise (2006)
Evangelos Pattas (2007)
Stéphane Thuriot (2008)
Hagen Hoppenstedt (2009)
Melanie Wagner (2010)
Gunnar Tietz (2011)
Magdalena Brandstätter (2012)